Friday, March 30, 2012

T20 to celebrate 150th anniversary of Indians landing in SA

T20 to celebrate 150th anniversary of Indians landing in SAIndia and South Africa meet in a one-off Twenty20 international at the Wanderers Stadium on Friday, with India coach Duncan Fletcher insisting the long, round trip will be worthwhile.

T20 to celebrate 150th anniversary of Indians landing in SA 
The only one-off T20 clash will be played to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Indians landing in South Africa. 
India arrived in Johannesburg on Wednesday with a near-full strength T20 squad, with batsman Virender Sehwag and pace bowler Zaheer Khan the only key players being rested.
South Africa, by contrast, has picked only eight of the squad which won a T20 series in New Zealand last month, resting all its Test players with the exception of Jacques Kallis, who will be the recipient of a special tribute at the match.
Cricket South Africa (CSA) will contribute to the Jacques Kallis Foundation, which provides scholarships for talented cricketers from under-privileged areas to attend leading cricket schools.
Kallis said he would, in turn, assist the Yuvraj Singh Foundation. India player Yuvraj is being treated for cancer. Kallis' father died of cancer in 2003.
The squads (from):
South Africa: Johan Botha (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk (wk) and Dane Vilas (wk).
India: M.S. Dhoni (capt, wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Gautam Gambhir, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Rahul Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary and Robin Uthappa.

No comments:

Post a Comment